Ubuntu – Two Weeks Later

07Jul08

The Good (things that didn’t work very well for me last time I tried):

  • All of my usb devices were recognized straight away
  • Connecting to wireless networks is effortless
  • Linux Skype now has video calls
  • Eclipse works with all of my favourite add-ons
  • Google Earth
  • My ATI graphics card
  • Bluetooth

The Bad:

  • Eclipse (never known for its legs) is even slower than on windows
  • Fonts still look a bit skanky without a lot of messing around
  • OpenOffice still butchers five out of every ten .doc files I try opening

The Ugly:

  • It took me about three days of command line hacking to use dial-up via my 3G phone

Summary:

Still not perfect but I think for me at least it now has the edge on Windows.

2 Responses to “Ubuntu – Two Weeks Later”

  1. 1 chornsokun

    Chris have you tried this trick yet http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=201378 it promised to boost your eclipse performance.

  2. I all the time used to study piece of writing
    in news papers but now as I am a user of internet thus from now I am
    using net for content, thanks to web.


Leave a Reply

